I slept with a dog tonight.

I miss my furry family when I’m in Australia.  They stay state-side under my husband’s loving hand.  I walk the dog beach in search of a stolen dog smooch, a patted head, a long-tongued kiss.

Kelpie dog in the surf

Kelpie in the surf at Tallow Beach

I talk to people about their dogs.  “May I take a picture of your dog?” I ask.  Sure!  And I get a short dog-history from people I’d never talk to if I didn’t admire their furry companion.  “This kelpie is a beach dog.  Born here, raised on the beach.”  I think the message is that this kelpie, bred to work sheep and cattle, isn’t nervous around people as many are.

If I approached a stranger, admiring their sarong or a hat, I’d never get past “hello!”.  Scary woman on the beach!  But admire a dog, and now I’m a bestie.  Drink, dinner, a conversation about dogs?  Of course!

Some dogs leap and chase balls furiously on the beach and into the surf, as my furry companion tonight does.  Some trot sedately with their owners, eschewing balls and childish doggish things.  Some are dignified, some watch the surf for their human companions, some dash for others’ balls, and some bounce in the surf, ball-less.

Inka, my friend’s little labradoodle, joneses for thrown balls.  My arm aches and shoulder twinges.  Inka doesn’t care.  She’ll trot beside me, in front of me, only distracted by other curly creatures that carry their tail up and over.  Poodles and labradoodles require a sniff and a doggie greeting.  Others are greeted with a snap, yipe!  Get your own!   Sniff along elsewhere!  Inka fascinates all the dogs, but is quite selective in her own choices for friends.  We like this in a girl.  Ball, please.

Tallow Beach dogs

Two dogs after one ball

Contrary to Inka’s very well-behaved life at home, with me, she sleeps on my bed, cuddles on the couch, and lives a coddled life.  We chat and play, and I pet her every time I’m asked.  Just for a day or two.  I hand her back, reluctantly, to her own person, and forage again on the beach for a little dog-time.

I don’t tell my own little furries that I’ve slept with another.  What happens in Australia, stays in Australia.


2 responses to “I slept with a dog tonight.

  1. Come home. All is forgiven.

Leave a comment